maryland real estate license requirements frequently asked questions
How do I get a Maryland real estate license?
Per the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation, to obtain a Maryland real estate salesperson license includes the following:
•Be at least 18 years’ old
•Be of good character and reputation
•Obtain from a licensed real estate broker a commitment that the licensee will become affiliated with that brokerage upon completion
•Successfully complete a 60-hour real estate course approved by the state commission
•Pass the Maryland real estate exam
•Apply to the state for a real estate salesperson license
How long does it take to get a Maryland real estate license?
The amount of time to get your Maryland real estate Salesperson license is contingent upon a number of factors, though most complete the requirements within four months. There are a number of steps to complete which include completing education, submitting an application for the license, taking the exam, and gaining sponsorship by an actively licensed Maryland real estate broker, such as with Next Day Home Sales®: Realtors®.
How much does it cost to get a Maryland real estate license?
The cost to get a Maryland real estate license depends on a variety of factors. The state licensing application fee is $110 dollars for the salesperson license, however there are additional costs to consider which include course tuition costs, exam fees, and any fees required by the sponsoring broker.
Do I need a Maryland real estate license?
Yes. To represent buyers and sellers in real estate transactions in the state of Maryland requires a state-issued real estate license.